Happy Anniversary To Me!

100poundanniversary.jpg

One year ago today I reached my initial goal of losing 100 pounds. When I first started losing weight, I read so many discouraging statistics about maintaining weight loss that I was actually quite worried. However, as I went along my journey, I came to the realization that the changes I was making were permanent, so as long as I kept up my healthier lifestyle, there was no reason to believe that the weight would come back on. Thankfully, that has proven to be the case. I actually never came to a decision to stop losing weight. At some point I just stopped losing weight while eating healthy food and exercising, and I figured I must have reached the best weight for me. I have hovered between 100 and 105 pounds lost from my original weight for the last year. I don’t count calories, or keep a food log anymore. I eat real food, I don’t eat processed food and I limit treats, and try to pay attention to portion sizes (except for the veggies, of course). I exercise an average of 6 days per week, and I have developed a love of fitness.

My entire life I thought I was just someone who was destined to be fat. I felt like I had no control over my weight, I felt powerless against lethargy, and tempting food. I can’t even express how amazing it is to be free of that, how healthy, strong, and in control I now feel. I am always so happy when I hear that I have inspired others to live healthier lives, to eat real food, to get out and exercise. My greatest hope is to continue to inspire, that someone reading my blog realizes that it is possible, and takes the first steps towards living a healthier life.

One response to “Happy Anniversary To Me!

  1. Dear Ruth
    You look awesome
    See you at the Y
    Renee

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

