How the Habit of Eating More Vegetables Has Helped Me Get Healthy

As I said when I introduced this habit, this is probably my #1 recommendation to people, and that is because of how much this habit has helped me. Because here’s the thing…I LOVE to eat. And I love to eat a lot of food. I’m not so great at doing that whole “only eat when you are hungry” and “stop eating when you are satisfied, not stuffed” thing–though I continue to try to work on that. Oh, and the “eat slowly” thing is a work in progress too.

So, I practice portion control (next week’s habit!) with everything else, and I let myself go crazy with the veggies. I make A TON of veggies with every dinner, so that if I want to keep eating, I can let myself do that…just with only the veggies. If there are leftovers, that’s terrific, I’ll have them with lunch the next day. If I want to snack between meals, even if I’m not hungry, that’s fine…but only with veggies–and sometimes fruit, though I do watch the quantity of fruit I eat in a day. If I am actually hungry, I will often have some protein with my veggies or fruit.

And here’s the thing…veggies are absolutely delicious. I love veggies. Sure, I love to experiment with them, and try cooking them in different ways. But most of the time I just love to quickly pan steam them with a little garlic and salt, as I described in this recipe, or I grill them like in this one. I also love a great crunchy salad, and sometimes experiment with different salads and dressings. If you don’t like vegetables a lot, or don’t know how to prepare them, this article from the Kitchn has some great tips. I think it would be impossible to really get healthy without being in a habit of cooking regularly, and I will definitely talk about that in a future post as well.

So, if you like to eat like I do, try making about twice as much vegetables as you think is reasonable, and go at it! You will be getting lots of healthy vitamins and nutrients, you won’t be hungry since veggies have lots of good filling fiber, and as a result you may find yourself eating less of the stuff that isn’t as healthy. It certainly worked–and continues to work–for me.

One response to “How the Habit of Eating More Vegetables Has Helped Me Get Healthy

  1. Pingback: Weekly Healthy Habit #3: Portion Control | Zumba My Butt Off

Leave a Reply

