Mindfulness Can Be a Challenge

Today I couldn’t get to a class at the gym, but I have gotten into the habit of exercising every day, so felt like I should do something. That’s the benefit of creating healthy habits, it just feels wrong if you don’t follow through with them.

Yesterday my husband was talking about this wonderful hike he took near our house so I thought it would be a good way to get some exercise, and to make sure that he doesn’t pass me on the Fitbit leaderboard (ha ha, he’ll never pass me!)

As I started my walk, I had an internal dialogue going in my head…and it wasn’t a good one. I was grumbling about how I really didn’t feel like walking, I much prefer going to classes at the gym, walking felt boring in comparison. Grumble grumble grumble…I entered the hiking trail and started climbing up the hill, and my internal grumbling went to the fact that my legs were sore from strength training yesterday, I was still bored, so on and so forth.

Suddenly I realized…it is a beautiful day in the San Francisco Bay Area. We are having an unseasonably warm and dry winter, a fact for which I am sure we will all pay with water restrictions this summer, but for now it is really lovely outside. The woods I was hiking through are lovely and still a bit wild, even though they are surrounded by suburbs on all sides. My body is strong, and I love the feeling of my muscles working hard, even when they are a bit sore. As I started being more mindful of my surrounding, of the beautiful day, of the way my body felt, my internal grumbles faded and I felt more at peace, and my walk became a lovely experience.

So sometimes you have to work to calm all your grumblings, and just be mindful of the moment.

Leave a Reply

