Spicy Coconut Peanut Sauce

The kids were invited to go out with their friends’ family to dinner and children’s theater tonight, so I wanted to use the opportunity to cook something spicy. My husband loves peanut sauces, so I decided to give one a try. I found a recipe that used light coconut milk, peanut butter, and sriracha (which my husband also loves), and it seemed like a good one to try adapting. We ate the peanut sauce over a shrimp and veggie stir fry and brown rice. The sauce was very good, I thought the spiciness of the sauce was perfect, but my husband thought it could be spicier. I would make it less spicy for the kids.

The original recipe said to cook the sauce for 20 minutes, but it thickened up quite a bit after only about 5 minutes of cooking. I actually ended up adding a bit of water to thin it out so I could pour it over the stir-fry and rice. You could leave it thick if you wanted to use it as a dipping sauce. The original recipe called for green onion, but I had leeks in the house so I used that instead.

I like making a simple stir-fry or grilled dish, and then having a sauce to put on top. That way each person can choose how much sauce to use. My husband, who is currently trying to gain a bit of weight (seriously!) slathered the sauce on, whereas I was a bit less generous on my dinner.

Spicy Coconut Peanut Sauce (adapted from A Nutritionist Eats blog)

8 servings, 144 calories/serving according to MyFitnessPal recipe nutrition calculator

  • 2 tsp peanut oil
  • 1 small leek (or a bunch of green onions), chopped fine
  • 1 Tbsp finely grated (or minced) ginger
  • 3 cloves garlic, through a garlic press or minced
  • 1 can light coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp sriracha
  1. Heat peanut oil in a saucepan over medium heat
  2. Add leeks, cook about 5 minutes, until soft
  3. Add ginger and garlic, cook about 1 minute
  4. Add coconut milk, peanut butter, soy sauce and sriracha and whisk until smooth
  5. Bring to a simmer, turn heat down to medium-low and simmer until flavors are blended and the sauce is desired thickness. If sauce is too thick, whisk in water a little bit at a time to thin it out.

The sauce was done before my stir-fry, so before thinning it out I let it sit to the side while I finished cooking the rest of dinner. I then put it back on the heat, whisked in the water to thin it out, and brought it to a simmer before serving.

I couldn’t get a very good picture of the sauce. It tasted much better than it looks in this picture!

20130807-202518.jpg

Leave a Reply

