Tilapia Grilled in Foil Packets, with Pesto, Cherry Tomatoes and Red Onion

I went to a wonderful Cardio Kickboxing class this morning. The funny thing (to me at least) is that what made it wonderful was that it was challenging, worked my muscles until they were shaking, and by the end I was dripping in sweat. There is no way I every would have thought of that as a positive experience before starting this journey. Now, don’t get me wrong, there were times during the workout where I was bitching to one of the other class attendees about how completely crazy the instructor is–but it was a great workout!

I wanted fish for dinner tonight, but only had time to go to Trader Joe’s–which is right near my gym. The fish selection at Trader Joe’s is not the best, but the tilapia is always fine so I went ahead and bought some. I decided to try grilling it in foil packets, and did a bit of research into the technique and came up with my own recipe with stuff I had at home. It turned out great! Seems to me you could probably put any combination of veggies and herbs in the foil packet with the fish and follow the same technique.

I had some leftover pesto in the freezer from when I made the Eating Well Basic Basil Pesto recipe for veggie pizza, but store bought pesto would also work though you may want to add less olive oil since they are usually very oily. I defrosted a couple of cubes of the pesto in the microwave for less than a minute.

Tilapia Grilled in Foil Packets, with Pesto, Cherry Tomatoes and Red Onion, serves 4

Ingredients:

  • olive oil
  • 1 small red onion, sliced thin
  • 1 lb. tilapia fillets
  • Approx. 2 Tbsp (2 cubes of an ice cube tray) pesto
  • Approx. 1 pint halved cherry tomatoes (mine were Sun Gold)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Heat a grill to medium heat
  2. Lay out 2 large pieces of heavy duty aluminum foil
  3. Drizzle a little olive oil in the middle of both
  4. Put a layer of half the onion slices in the middle of each piece of foil
  5. Rub the pesto all over both sides of the tilapia, and put half the tilapia in each piece of foil. For me, this worked out to 1 1/2 fillets in each.
  6. Scatter cherry tomatoes over tilapia. Drizzle with more olive oil, sprinkle on salt and pepper.20130806-200045.jpg
  7. Seal the packets well, folding over the edges to keep the steam inside.
  8. Grill the packets over medium heat for about 7 minutes. Check tilapia is cooked through, being careful of the steam when opening the packets.20130806-200054.jpg
  9. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

