Grilled Swordfish with Nectarine & Red Onion Salsa, Roasted Beet Salad, and Millet Cakes

Sometimes a fantastic dinner just sort of falls into place, and tonight was one of those times. I went to Whole Foods today to buy some fish for the grill, and the swordfish looked great and was on sale. Win! We haven’t made swordfish in a long time, but I remembered that it pairs well with nectarines, so I went searching for a recipe and came across a recipe for Grilled Swordfish with Nectarine-Onion Salsa from Martha Stewart. I didn’t follow the amounts in the recipe exactly, since I was only making the salsa for my hubby and I, but I followed the general idea. I cut 2 nectarines and a red onion in half, sprayed them with olive oil, and sprinkled them with salt and pepper for my husband to grill.

20130719-220701.jpg

Nectarines and red onion ready for the grill

I chopped up some mint and a jalapeño pepper–including the seeds and membranes–and mixed them with some white wine vinegar, olive oil, whole grain dijon mustard, salt and pepper on the bottom of a medium sized bowl.

20130719-220942.jpg

Mint and jalapeño pepper dressing for salsa

Once the nectarines and red onion were grilled until they had some nice marks on them, but weren’t too soft, I chopped them up and added them to the dressing and stirred it all together. It was ridiculously good. I had to stop myself from eating all of it standing at the kitchen counter. I kept giving it the occasional stir to blend the flavors as I got the rest of the meal together.

20130719-220649.jpg

Nectarine & Red Onion Salsa

I made more of the Crackly Banana Bread from smittenkitchen earlier today, and remembered that I had some millet grits from Bob’s Red Mill, as I had mistakenly ordered them when I wanted to buy the whole millet for the banana bread recipe. I’d been trying to figure out what to have as side dishes for dinner, and I had read that millet grits are similar to polenta, so I decided to try to make millet cakes similar to the polenta cakes we had made on the grill previously.

Earlier in the day I cooked the millet grits according to the recipe on the label, and then poured it into a rectangular shaped storage container until it was set.

20130719-220951.jpg

Millet grits cooling

After it was fairly firm, I used a small biscuit cutter to cut out rounds. I was able to take the scraps that were left and form them into cakes with my hands, so you could also probably just form all the cakes by hand. I then sprayed them with olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper.

20130719-220727.jpg

Millet cakes ready for the grill

My husband cooked them in a cast iron skillet on the grill until browned and crispy. They were very good, but a little bland, so I’ve decided next time I will probably add more seasoning or herbs to the millet grits before they set.

20130719-220800.jpg

Millet Grits Cakes cooked in Cast Iron

For our vegetable, I decided to roast some beets from our CSA farm share, and make a salad I once had at a friend’s house, Beets and Arugula with Goat Cheese and Balsamic. First, I scrubbed all the beets and cut off the ends. I cut the bigger beets in half, and then wrapped them in foil with a bit of olive oil. I roasted them over indirect heat on the grill for about an hour until they were tender when I tested with a fork.

20130719-220738.jpg

Grill-roasted Beets

After letting them cool, I was able to slip the peel off by rubbing them with a paper towel. I then sliced them, tossed them with olive oil and salt, and my husband cooked them on a grill pan on the grill on each side for a few minutes. You don’t have to cook them a second time, but we like the crispy edges that come from this method.

20130719-220750.jpg

Second grilling of the beets

I served the beets on a bed of arugula, a drizzle of really good balsamic, and a bit of crumbled goat cheese. We also had our usual platter of cut up raw veggies. The salsa was good on both the swordfish and the millet grits cakes (and on its own at the end of the meal!) I love it when a meal comes together!

20130719-220808.jpg

Millet grits cakes (lower left corner) and swordfish (lower right corner) with Nectarine & Red Onion salsa. Roasted beets on a bed of arugula with goat cheese and balsamic (upper right corner) and cut up raw veggies (upper left corner)

Leave a Reply

