Healthy Lifestyle Tip #4: Think About the Food You Eat

I believe the first step to eating healthier is to become more aware of what you are eating now. So even before changing what you are eating, just think about the food you are putting into your body. Realize that the primary function of food is to fuel your body. It doesn’t need to be an either/or proposition–either it tastes great or is good for you. It can still taste great while giving you something your body needs. However, there is a lot of food out there that may taste great, but provides your body with absolutely nothing useful. The key, eventually, is to greatly reduce how many useless foods you eat, and replace them with foods that help your body, namely lots of fruit and vegetables, some complex carbs and lean proteins. Before you can get to that point though, you need to raise your own awareness of what you are eating.

There is this practice called “Mindful Eating” which includes meditating over your food, and slowly taking every bite. I don’t think I have the patience to eat like that. However, I do pause a moment before eating something, and think about first whether I am actually hungry or if I’m only eating because I’m bored or some other reason, and then whether the food I am choosing will help my body function in some way.

Does that mean I never eat anything that isn’t useful? Of course not. I go out to eat, and while I now make healthier choices there is always food that is eaten simply because it tastes good. I occasionally have a small frozen yogurt when taking the kids for a treat. I have just greatly reduced the frequency and portion sizes of those events. It makes me savor and enjoy those treats even more than I did before.

2 responses to “Healthy Lifestyle Tip #4: Think About the Food You Eat

  1. Pingback: Healthy Lifestyle Tip #5: Keep a Food Journal | Zumba My Butt Off

  2. Pingback: Healthy Lifestyle Tip #7: Cut Back on Processed Foods | Zumba My Butt Off

Leave a Reply

