Tempeh Veggie Chili and Wholesome Cornbread

Today was a very strange weather day where I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. It was cold and rainy, and made me alter my original plan for dinner. I decided to have a Meatless Monday, and made Tempeh Veggie Chili and Cornbread. I used the Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili recipe I have previously blogged about, and added a package of Trader Joe’s tempeh, which I crumbled by hand into the slow cooker at the same time as the rest of the ingredients.

I’ve been searching for a cornbread recipe that didn’t include any white flour, and had a minimum amount of sugar. I’ve been having great luck with EatingWell.com lately, so I decided to try their Wholesome Cornbread recipe. I used Sucanat (a more natural form of sugar) in place of the white sugar, I’m sure it tasted pretty much the same. I may try it with honey next time. I used white whole wheat flour instead of regular whole wheat flour, and as a reviewer of the recipe suggested, I added 6 oz. of defrosted frozen corn into the finished batter. While I was searching for recipes, I found a bunch that cooked in a cast iron skillet, so I decided to use that method. I put the cast iron skillet in the oven while it preheated. As soon as the batter was done, I sprayed some canola oil in the skillet then quickly poured in the batter and spread it out. It finished in 20 minutes, faster than the original recipe, likely because the pan was already hot.

20130624-194146.jpg

Cornbread in the cast iron skillet

I thought the cornbread was excellent. I made some honey butter for my husband and kids, but I enjoyed it plain. The whole corn pieces added a lovely texture and sweetness, and I didn’t miss the butter…much.

20130624-194211.jpg

Yummy slice of cornbread

I ate my chili with nonfat Greek yogurt, diced fresh tomatoes, and Frank’s Hot Sauce. It was delicious, and perfect for a strangely rainy day.

20130624-194158.jpg

Veggie chili

3 responses to “Tempeh Veggie Chili and Wholesome Cornbread

  1. Yum! Any leftovers?

  2. Pingback: Healthy Lifestyle Tip #9: Control Portions and/or Frequency | Zumba My Butt Off

Leave a Reply

