Healthy Lifestyle Tip #3: Move More

I know you have heard it a million times, exercise is important. I don’t need to go into the reasons it is so important–I’m sure you already know all of that–I will only tell you that I am living proof of the amazing rewards you can get from regular exercise, and that you can end up enjoying it, even if that is very very hard to believe right now. If you are not yet exercising in any way, perhaps you have lots of reasons why.

If exercise sounds like torture to you, start slow. Try something new. Find a walking buddy, check out an exercise video on youtube, keep trying thing after thing until something clicks and it is fun. As I stated when I started this blog, for me it was Zumba Fitness Rush on the Xbox. I love to dance, and so an hour of Zumba would go by quickly. I could do it in the privacy of my own home, so wouldn’t have to deal with anyone else watching. Do whatever amount of exercise you can manage to start, do what’s fun, just move a bit more than you are doing today. When that feels good, move more than that. Keep building on it as time goes by. Then maybe try something else new so you don’t get tired of what you have been doing. Even moving more throughout the day–taking walks around the office every 15 minutes to stretch your legs, parking farther away when you are shopping, getting up from your computer to do the laundry or take the kids to the park–is going to be so much better for you than sitting still. With that in mind, I’m off to move a bit more! Making cornbread to go with tonight’s Veggie Chili. If it comes out well, I’ll blog about it of course!

Leave a Reply

