Chipotle & Orange Grilled Chicken, Sweet Potatoes and Green Beans

I had a craving for barbecue sauce, so I went searching for a recipe and found a great one for Chipotle & Orange Grilled Chicken from EatingWell.com, which we cooked up tonight along with sweet potatoes and green beans. My husband is a big fan of chipotle, and it was a deliciously spicy and sweet sauce for grilling. We decided it would probably work well on pork tenderloin as well.

IMG_3268

We are not big fans of chicken breasts, so I bought some chicken legs. Since the sauce was spicy I cut the thighs and drumsticks apart and we only put the sauce on the thighs, and served the drumsticks to the kids. My husband started the chicken on the grill with the skin on, and took it off part way through to start basting it with the sauce. He decided that he would have liked to baste it longer, so next time we will start it without the skin and baste the whole time it is cooking.

We put the potatoes on at the same time as the chicken. While those were cooking, I cut the ends off of some green beans and put them in a foil packet with a bit of olive oil, salt, and 1/4 cup of water.

IMG_3263

We put that on the grill over high heat for about 5 minutes to steam, then dumped the green beans on a flat grill pan to brown a little.

I also cut up a bunch of raw veggies to put out on the table. I do this almost every night during the summer, and realized I hadn’t started yet this year, so this is a good habit that starts again tonight. My son gobbled up the cucumber, he ate almost all of it himself.

IMG_3267

3 responses to “Chipotle & Orange Grilled Chicken, Sweet Potatoes and Green Beans

  1. Pingback: Monkfish with Avocado Mango Salsa | Zumba My Butt Off

  2. Pingback: Healthy Lifestyle Tip #9: Control Portions and/or Frequency | Zumba My Butt Off

  3. Pingback: How the Habit of Eating More Vegetables Has Helped Me Get Healthy | Zumba My Butt Off

Leave a Reply

