Healthy Lifestyle Tip #1 – Reflect On The Journey To Come

I am starting a new series of posts I am calling…drumroll please…”Healthy Lifestyle Tips”! I know, I know, it is so exciting you can barely contain yourself.

I have mentioned a lot of these throughout the year that I’ve been blogging about my fitness and weight loss journey, but I decided to start listing them more succinctly in the hope it might help others to start a healthy journey of their own. My suggestion is to adopt the ones that make sense to you, and that you believe you can continue for the rest of your life.¬†And that leads to:

Tip #1: Reflect On The Journey To Come–or The Journey So Far

Spend some time thinking about why you want to change your life. Do you feel out of control when it comes to food? Are you getting out of breath when playing with your kids, or just climbing a flight of stairs? Have you had some type of health scare? Realize that the changes you need to make are not just for the moment until you lose the weight or get in better shape, they will be changes that you will continue for the rest of your life.

Not only should you think of all the reasons you want to change your life before you start, I have found this is something I still need to do occasionally when those chips or donuts are calling my name. Spending time reflecting on the journey to come or the journey so far reminds me why I can never return to how things used to be.

Leave a Reply

