100 Pounds Lost!!! 5 to go?

I have lost 100 pounds as of last Friday, June 14! It is an amazing milestone, and one I am still having trouble wrapping my head around. I haven’t had time to blog about it until now, the kids are out of school for the summer and it has been a bit crazy around here.

In a way, it is good I was delayed, as it has given me more to talk about than just the celebratory “Yippee!” Since getting to that milestone last Friday, I have gone out to eat twice. I was really disciplined the rest of the week, and yet I have still gained back a little bit of the weight I had lost. No big deal, I am back to eating my usual over-abundance of vegetables and I’m sure the weight will come back off quickly. Some of it might even be water weight from the heavy doses of sodium in all restaurant meals. However, it shows just how disciplined I will have to be FOREVER to keep the weight off. You never know what is in a restaurant meal, even the vegetables can be drowning in butter (the likely culprit at one of the meals). I will likely need to keep dining out to a very infrequent occasion, and I will need to be very careful with what and how much I am eating at all times surrounding the meal. Is this how “naturally slim” people live? Are they always conscious of their eating and compensating for big meals? In any case, I had already known that maintenance would be pretty much identical to the actual weight loss part of all of this, so it is not really a surprise.

I have 5 pounds to get to my original goal weight (not counting that little bit I put back on this week), but as I mentioned in my last post, I’m not sure I’ll be trying to drop those or not. Most days I’m pretty happy with my size, and that is before the inevitable plastic surgery. The only thing that makes me want to lose those last 5 is that I am still in the “overweight” category on the BMI chart. However, that is with the extra skin, and I have quite a bit of muscle now that might be throwing off the number a bit. Not quite sure that number is at all important anyway, as all indications are that my health is about as good as it could possibly be. Mostly I want to see how well I can maintain where I am.

I’ve decided now that I am pretty near, or at, my goal, I’m going to start posting  tips about the changes I’ve made, and suggestions on how others can use these to get healthier. I’ll try my best to post one per day, we’ll see how well I can keep up. My suggestion will be to try the ones that sounds doable to you for the long-term, and try each one for awhile before trying something else. Stay tuned!

Thanks to all my family and friends for all of their support and encouragement so far on this journey. The journey is far from over, as it is a lifetime commitment!

6 responses to “100 Pounds Lost!!! 5 to go?

  1. Honestly, I don’t think there really are any “naturally slim” people in our general age bracket (let’s say 40+). There may be some people who are able to balance their activity level and intake more intuitively but I honestly don’t believe there is anyone who is slender without putting at least a little bit of thought into maintaining it. Particularly when you consider that lean mass and energy requirements decline quite steadily through these years if you don’t work to retain it.

  2. hmmm… I’ll answer as someone who’s never had an obesity problem (I used to be overweight, back when I ate at restaurants regularly.) On the one hand, I really do like salads, I really just plain old never think about going out to get a donut (baked sweets just are not terribly tempting to me at all) and if I have a big lunch I’m just not real hungry at dinnertime. I love some types of exercise and mentally see them as rewards, not as chores, so that’s easy (well, other than now when I am hurt, ugh!) On the other hand, I do sometimes have my weight creep up a bit, and I have to be a little extra focused on healthy food. My scale has been consistently showing me up 3 pounds lately, and a shirt I like is a bit too tight. Time to keep an eye on things, like whether I’m snarfing crap at work and making sure I have a lot of veggies with dinner. So yeah, we have to keep at it in some ways, but it’s not a big deal. That said, I only just turned 40 so maybe it will be harder over time– but many of my friends are 50+ and very slim and fit, so I know it’s possible.

    • Thanks for the comment, Betsy. So it sounds like while it all comes a bit more naturally to some people, you still have to put thought into keeping your weight where you want it to be.

  3. I saw your post on the Weight Watchers page and had to check out your blog! Love all your recipes (gonna try the polenta STAT!). Congratulations on your weight loss! You are an inspiration! Zumba helped me with my weight loss as well and last month I became a certified Zumba instructor. I hope to continue following your journey–you ROCK!

  4. Pingback: Happy Anniversary To Me! | Zumba My Butt Off

Leave a Reply

