Healthier Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

My kids’ favorite homemade cookies are Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies, which I found on the Ghirardelli website years ago. I was always glad that they have oatmeal in them, but they also have a lot of butter and sugar. I saw a recipe on skinnytaste.com recently for cookies made with just bananas, oatmeal, and walnuts, and thought I’d try and see if I could do a combination of that recipe and my kids’ favorite cookie recipe, and come up with something they like, which I could enjoy as well. It actually came out really good, not really like the original cookie, but sort of a cross between an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie and banana bread. They would be even healthier with darker chocolate chips, and might be good (and healthier still) with walnuts instead of, or maybe with less, chocolate chips–though while I think I’d like those versions, I’m not sure my kids would. I used bananas that I had frozen when they were extremely ripe, not sure if fresh bananas would have a different consistency. I’m also going to experiment to see if the baking soda was necessary or not, but it was part of the original recipe, so I kept it.

They passed the kid test, though my daughter only wants the ones that have more of the chocolate chips. My son is willing to save those for her, and eat the ones with less of the chips, so I guess they must be good. I still can’t go crazy with these, because of the chocolate chips, but there’s only about 120 calories in 2 of them, so they are good for a snack or treat.

20130307-152710.jpg

Cookies ready to go into the oven

Healthier Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies, makes about 40 cookies

  • 3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup almond flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Pinch grated nutmeg (I grated it fresh)
  • 2 1/2 cups old fashioned rolled oats (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli)
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Prepare a baking sheet with either a silpat or parchment paper.
  2. Mix mashed bananas, egg, and vanilla together until well blended
  3. Mix in almond flour, salt, baking soda, cinnamon, and nutmeg until well mixed
  4. Stir in oats, then chocolate chips until well distributed throughout the batter
  5. Scoop onto pan, I used a cookie scoop, but probably rounded tablespoons would work. Flatten out the top.
  6. Bake for 10 minutes. My oven is uneven, so I baked for 5 minutes, then turned the cookie sheets.
  7. Allow to cool for a couple of minutes on the cookie sheet, then use a spatula to move to a drying rack.
20130307-152721.jpg

Finished cookies!

Leave a Reply

