Slow Cooker Chicken Chili and Cornbread

As I mentioned before, Monday evenings are crazy for me and it is hard to get a good dinner on the table on time. So yesterday I made Slow Cooker Chicken Chili from Skinny Ms., another recipe suggested by a friend. It was very good (sorry, no picture but there is one on the linked website) although I used spicy chili powder so it was a bit too spicy for the kids. Next week I want to try to do a vegetarian chili (with regular chili powder) in the slow cooker for meatless Monday. I’ll have to start researching.

I had some extra time during the day yesterday, so I made homemade cornbread. My favorite recipe is one from Cook’s Illustrated, which uses whole corn kernels, but it has a lot of butter and sugar. I decided to try experimenting with it, and replaced some of the white flour with white whole wheat, some of the butter with applesauce, and took out half the sugar. It was terrific, I think I might have liked it more than the original recipe! I am going to keep experimenting to see how much whole wheat flour I can get in it, and how much sugar and butter I can take out, but here it is with the first round:

Light All-Purpose Cornbread (adapted from Cook’s Illustrated) – serves 9 (good sized pieces)

  • 3/4 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup cornmeal (I used Bob’s Red Mill fine ground)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon table salt
  • 1/8 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3/4 cup frozen corn, thawed (I used Trader Joe’s super sweet organic…don’t know if it really is sweeter than regular)
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 4 tablespoons butter (1/2 stick), melted and cooled slightly
  1. Heat oven to 400 degrees. Spray an 8-inch square baking dish with non-stick spray (I used canola oil spray). Whisk both flours, cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda and salt together in a medium bowl (you’ll be adding the wet ingredients later).
  2. Process sugar, applesauce, corn and buttermilk in a food processor or blender for 5 seconds. Add eggs and process about 5 more seconds or until everything’s mixed together. You should still see some lumps of corn.
  3. Make a well in the dry ingredients, and fold in the wet ingredients with a rubber spatula. Mix gently, you don’t want it thoroughly mixed yet, just combined a bit. Then pour in the butter and mix it gently, just until there’s no more dry spots.
  4. Pour into the baking dish and flatten out the top with the spatula. Bake for 25 to 35 minutes, until a toothpick in the center comes out clean. Let cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then take it out of the pan and cool on a wire rack for 10 more minutes.

I entered the recipe into MyFitnessPal (a very cool part of the online website), and it came up with the following nutritional info per serving (when cut in 9 pieces): 201 calories, 31g carbs, 5g protein, 4g fiber, 6g sugar, 6g fat

Kids had theirs with butter, but I thought it tasted great plain. I had a dish of chili with a bit of greek yogurt, a big salad, and a piece of cornbread. It was a great meal for a chilly night (I know, I’m so witty).

20130205-194307.jpg

Leave a Reply

