Superbowl Snacks

Today we went to a Superbowl party at a friend’s house. I was warned that he was ordering all the food from a BBQ place, and having lots of chips and other snack food, so I made sure to bring some things that I could eat. First was my usual stand-by, veggies and hummus.20130203-210502.jpg

 

I also brought a bean salad, which my sister-in-law Leslie made last time we were visiting with her, and she gave me the recipe. There really isn’t much of one, because you can make it how you like, but here’s what I did. This made a very big batch.

  • 2 cans black beans
  • 2 cans garbanzo beans
  • 2 cans canned corn
  • 1 can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1 diced orange bell pepper
  • 1 diced jalapeño, seeds removed
  •  1/2 diced red onion
  • juice of 1 lime
  • red wine vinegar
  • olive oil
  • cumin, salt, pepper to taste

20130203-210509.jpg

Even people who weren’t trying to eat healthy were eating up the bean salad and veggies, right along with all the other Superbowl snacks. So, disappointing ending to the Superbowl, but at least I’m not also disappointed with how I ate today.

 

Leave a Reply

