Roasted Chicken with Veggies

We received celeriac in our farm share, which I’ve never used before. When I looked up recipes for it, most of them had to do with roasting it with other root vegetables, so I decided it was time for roast chicken and veggies. I cut up the celeriac along with carrots, parsnips, portobello mushrooms, red onion, yukon gold potatoes (just a few), garlic cloves, and brussels sprouts, trying to get everything to about the same size–maybe an inch across. I tossed these with just a touch of olive oil, salt, and pepper and topped with some thyme from the garden. I chopped up some more garlic and thyme, and put it under the skin of a couple of chicken legs, and rubbed a bit of olive oil and pepper on the chicken. These were kosher chicken legs, so they were already salted, but if they weren’t I would have added some salt to the thyme and garlic under the skin. I put it all in the oven at 450 degrees for about 45 min, until the chicken was up to temp and the potatoes and carrots were tender.20130203-132040.jpg

It came out delicious! My husband and I prefer the dark meat chicken, and legs are perfect for our family of 4, since my husband and I can each take a thigh, and the kids each get a drumstick. However, with the dark meat you do end up with a bit more chicken fat in the bottom of the dish. I used a slotted spoon to serve the veggies. You could use chicken breasts instead if you like them. If I was going to serve more people than just my family, I would use a mixture of white and dark meat, like a whole cut up chicken.20130203-132047.jpg

One response to “Roasted Chicken with Veggies

  1. My kind of dinner! I know a few potatoes are fine, but in my pan, you won’t see them except once in a blue moon. I use sweet potatoes instead.

Leave a Reply

