Easy Weeknight Dinner: Catfish, Sweet Potato, and Broccoli

 

Tonight I made one of our standard weeknight dinners: Catfish with Chef Paul Prudhomme’s Seafood Magic Seasoning Blend, which is one of the only premixed seasoning I buy, and makes dinner super fast and easy.

20130129-202158.jpg

 

I sprinkled a bit on each filet of catfish. I usually do one of the filet’s a little lighter on the seasoning for my son who doesn’t like spicy. Not that it is very spicy, but he won’t believe me on that, and sometimes it is easier not to argue.20130129-202207.jpg

 

I heated some olive oil, maybe a tablespoon or so, until it was smoking, and pan-fried the fish until it was browned on each side, and opaque inside. Usually takes about 5-7 minutes per side.20130129-202221.jpg

 

Meanwhile, I chopped up some broccoli and peeled some garlic. As soon as the fish came out of the pan, I poured off a little of the oil, maybe leaving a teaspoon or so in the pan, then put in the broccoli. I added about 1/4 cup of water, and covered the pan for 3 minutes. Then I uncovered it and cooked off the water that was left. I cleared a spot in the middle of the pan, poured in just a tiny bit of oil and crushed 4 cloves of garlic into the pan. (Have you all figured out I love garlic?) I mushed the garlic around in the pan for a minute, then mixed it in with the broccoli.20130129-202229.jpg

 

I served it with sweet potatoes, which I had roasted in the oven for an hour. Is there anything better than a roasted sweet potato? I don’t really think so.

Great, quick dinner…not counting the sweet potato, on the table in about 20 minutes. Should have made this last night when I was in such a hurry, it was even faster than the meal made with leftover chicken.20130129-202240.jpg

One response to “Easy Weeknight Dinner: Catfish, Sweet Potato, and Broccoli

  1. Pingback: How the Habit of Eating More Vegetables Has Helped Me Get Healthy | Zumba My Butt Off

Leave a Reply

