Chicken For Two Nights

Mondays are crazy right now at my house. My daughter has gymnastics until 5:30pm, then she has rehearsal for a show at 7pm. Somehow I have to fit in cooking and eating dinner between those times. Slow cooker meals are a good option, but I also don’t have much time during the day on Monday, and this week I just couldn’t find one that sounded good that didn’t take a lot of prep work. Instead I decided to make a meal on Sunday that I could repurpose to make Monday’s meal prep faster.

On Sunday we made a whole butterflied chicken on the grill. I rubbed it under the skin with a mixture of paprika and garlic powder. No salt, since this was a pre-brined chicken (from Trader Joe’s). If your chicken is not pre-brined, you should add some salt to the rub. We also had green beans from our freezer–frozen from our farm share over the summer–sautéed on a grill pan with some salt and olive oil spray, baked potatoes, and an herb bread slab mostly for my son who doesn’t like potatoes. I ate about 2/3 of one of those potatoes with non-fat greek yogurt for an added boost of protein…and yuminess.20130128-203351.jpg

The next day, while I had a few minutes after driving my daughter to her gymnastics class, I chopped up some kale, carrots, and onions, and peeled about 4 cloves of garlic. After returning home from picking her up, I started some water for past, then I cooked the kale on high temperature in a little olive oil for about 5 minutes, then moved it to a bowl.20130128-203400.jpg

Then I cooked up some mushrooms, also over high heat, in a little more olive oil–I love the pre-sliced baby bella mushrooms from Trader Joe’s. For some reason, I hate cleaning and slicing mushrooms. After the mushrooms were cooked, I moved them to the bowl with the kale.20130128-203408.jpg

I turned the heat down to medium, then I cooked up the onions and carrots in just a touch more olive oil. After they softened and turned a little translucent–about 5-7 minutes–I added the garlic pushed through a garlic press. This is the point when I realized that so far this recipe was looking a lot like the recipe for the tomato sauce I made a couple days ago. However, it changed from this point on. 20130128-203415.jpg

I added back in the kale and mushrooms, and cooked it all together for a few minutes.20130128-203425.jpg

Then I added a can of cannellini (white kidney) beans, drained and rinsed first. I cooked that together for just a couple minutes, then added a can of low-sodium chicken broth. This ended up with a very saucy result, if you wanted thicker but less sauce you could add less than a can.20130128-203432.jpg

I cooked that all together for about 5 minutes, smushing some of the beans on the sides of the pan to thicken and blend into the sauce.20130128-203451.jpg

Then I added in the leftover chicken and cooked it until it was heated. 20130128-203458.jpg

I served it over whole wheat penne noodles, and the kids and my husband had some of the leftover bread from Sunday night’s meal to sop up the sauce–I just used a spoon. Another colorful, yummy, and healthy meal, and on the table in under 30 minutes.20130128-203505.jpg

One response to “Chicken For Two Nights

  1. Pingback: Healthy Grilling | getgrilling

Leave a Reply

