Be An Inspiration!

Today was a gorgeous day where I live (sorry to all those who are cold), and my kids had the day off from school for Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday–and I was so happy that they actually had learned a bit about him in school, so it wasn’t just a meaningless day off. Anyway, I decided we should get out of the house and walk to the park, which is less than a mile away. It is down the hill from our house, so you have to go up a pretty steep hill on the way home. Before I started my whole lifestyle change, I used to think that it was a very long walk. And even after I started, my kids would complain about having to walk there. Even today, my son asked if we could drive as we were leaving the house. However, when we were approaching the park, my son said “That was really close, I didn’t realize the park was so close.” We talked about how all of our perceptions had changed since we’d gotten more active, and how great it was that we all walked so much more.

It made me realize again how much my decision to change my life has changed not only my own life for the better, but the lives of others all around me. My children and husband are all more active and eat healthier. I questioned when I was starting whether to share my progress with friends on Facebook, afraid that if I failed everyone would see. However, I have created my own support group through my online and real life community. Many people have come up and told me that I’ve inspired them to get in better shape, whether they need to lose weight or not. Now I am at the point where I know I will not fail, I don’t even see that as a possibility. By inspiring others, I have become inspired as well.

Leave a Reply

