Taco Night!

 

My kids love taco night! It was a bit of a struggle for me at first to figure out how to make this a meal that I love too, but now it is one of my favorite meals. I start by making my own taco filling. The kids prefer to just have black beans (and all the yummy toppings), so I can make the filling as spicy as my husband and I like. If your kids will eat the filling, you could make it as mild as needed.

In the picture below is chopped onion, minced hot red pepper (you could use a jalapeño instead), and some chopped plum tomatoes. Over this past summer, I grew a bunch of plum tomatoes then froze them whole. When I want to use some, I run them under hot water and the skin slips right off (it is so cool). Then I chop them up while still frozen, which makes them really easy to chop up fine. If you don’t happen to have a supply of frozen plum tomatoes, you could use a bit of spaghetti sauce (the plain kind in a can), or a small can of diced tomatoes if you like it chunkier.20130113-200250.jpg

 

First I sautéed the onions and hot red pepper in a little olive oil until softened, about 5 minutes.20130113-200303.jpg

 

Then I added some crushed garlic, a bit of oregano (maybe about a teaspoon), and about 2 tablespoons of chili powder. Chili powder can vary greatly in heat level, so find one you like. You could also add some cayenne powder if you want it spicier. I sautéed that for about a minute, then added about a pound of ground turkey meat. I suggest using the 93% lean, not the 99%. I think that would make the taco filling taste too dry. I cooked the turkey until it was mostly browned, but not all the way, since it will cook more with the tomatoes.20130113-200313.jpg

 

 

Then I added my chopped plum tomatoes. This is where you could add a small can (or part of a can) of diced tomatoes, or some plain tomato sauce. Add enough so it is extra saucy, you want to cook it down a bit and concentrate the flavors.20130113-200324.jpg

I cooked the filling until most, but not all, of the liquid had cooked off. I still wanted it a little bit saucy. I tasted the filling and added a little bit of salt.20130113-200342.jpg

 

I always have my first taco with a soft taco shell (I like the De Mi Abuela Corn and Wheat Tortillas from Trader Joe’s, but you could even use a low-carb one), some of the filling, some non-fat greek yogurt (I always measure 1/2 cup at the start of the meal, and just use a bit on the first taco), tomatoes, and romaine lettuce. I don’t use any cheese, and I don’t miss it at all.20130113-200354.jpg

 

After that, I have a taco salad with a bit more taco filling, a lot of lettuce and tomato, the rest of the 1/2 cup of non-fat greek yogurt, and some salsa verde (I LOVE the Trader Joe’s salsa verde). Bear in mind when you look at this picture, I use salad plates for my meals. This isn’t quite as big as it looks. Still, it is a lot of delicious food, and only about 420 calories for the whole meal. 20130113-200408.jpg

We usually have quite a bit of taco filling left over, so I have taco salads for lunch for a couple days. This is a fantastic, filling, low calorie and nutritious meal. Definitely not just for the kids!

 

One response to “Taco Night!

  1. Pingback: Weekly Healthy Habit #2: Eating Lots of Vegetables and Fruit | Zumba My Butt Off

Leave a Reply

