Old-Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings from EatingWell.com

My husband loves chicken and dumplings, but I didn’t figure I’d be making it anytime soon since every recipe I’ve made in the past was full of creamy goodness. So I was hopeful when I found a recipe for Old-Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings. The last few days have been chilly here, so I decided to make it for tonight’s dinner.

The recipe says it will only take an hour, but it took about 1 1/2 hours, and that’s not adding in the time for me to run to the store to buy the onion I forgot when shopping yesterday (oops). Some of the comments on the website said to use less poultry seasoning, so I only used 2 teaspoons in with the vegetables, instead of the tablespoon in the recipe. I also used more salt than in the recipe, as I added salt and pepper to taste before putting in the dumplings. The stew wasn’t as thick as I expected when it was finished cooking, so next time I might cook it down a bit with the lid off before adding the dumplings and covering.

This recipe was a big hit! My husband liked it, and my kids both asked for seconds. The portion size is very generous for less than 500 calories. A great fall/winter recipe I will definitely be making again.

Leave a Reply

