Chili-Rubbed Tilapia from EatingWell.com

About a week ago, in the magazine rack at my local grocery store, I discovered the magazine Eating Well. Seems like a great magazine, I enjoyed the articles so much that I bought a subscription. Now it’s time to test some of the recipes. Turns out the have a great website too, and after some searching I found the one to try for tonight’s dinner. It was Chili-Rubbed Tilapia with Asparagus and Lemon. Asparagus isn’t in season this time of year, so I made it with summer squash–which I have A LOT of, between my garden and the farm share. It was a good substitute, but next time if I use squash again I will use less lemon than the recipe suggested. The squash absorbed the lemon and was a bit excessively lemony. I made it with cheesy grits using Trader Joe’s white grits with some cheddar cheese shredded in after cooking. Now, cheesy grits are definitely not the lowest calorie option out there, but here is where it is all about portion control. The perspective in the picture makes it look like a huge pile of grits, but remember that it is on a salad plate, so actually pretty small. All in all the meal had about 500 calories, and it was very good. I will definitely be making it again.

Leave a Reply

