Couch to 5K

I’ve had this feeling in the past couple of weeks that I would like to try jogging. I have no idea why, it is never something I wanted to do in the past. I think partly, it is so I can run with my kids at a park without feeling stupid. Also, people talk so highly about it, I want to see if I can figure out what all the buzz is about. I have heard that I should be concerned about my knees, or my ankles, but I figure if something starts hurting, I’ll stop…or at least take a break, and just go back to doing Zumba every day.

As I was doing some research, I found out about the Couch to 5K program. It starts you off gradually, combination of walking and running, and eventually you can run a 5K (3 miles). There are a bunch of iPhone apps that will coach you–i.e., tell you when to start and stop running–but I only found one that would also keep track of my heart rate and calorie burn. It is called Jog Log, I used it today and it worked great. You can make your own play list of music to play during your jog/walk, it does GPS tracking, heart rate monitoring, calorie burn, and a very nice voice prompts you to run or walk.

I also found a nice place for my inaugural jog, as I didn’t want to start in my neighborhood. I live on a bit of a hill, and didn’t want to add the ups and downs when I am just getting started. I went to the Redwood Shores section of the SF Bay Trail. It was lovely, right along a marshy part of the bay.

So, the first day went great, it was a really easy start. Five minutes of warm up, then 8 repeats of jogging for 1 minute and walking for 1 1/2 minutes, then 5 minutes of cool down. Do I love jogging? Not yet, but maybe I could, who knows. The first day of the program is only about 25 minutes, and mostly walking, so I still came home and did Zumba for 45 minutes.

Down another pound this morning, which now puts me officially 1/4 of the way to my goal! Woohoo! It is all going great so far, I’m realizing exercise can be fun, which is just weird. I went out shopping yesterday because some of my pants were falling off of me, and bought a pair of pants 3 sizes smaller than when I started, which was pretty awesome. And I feel really good, which is the most important part.

Leave a Reply

