Controlling Portion Size

One of the key things I have done to control portion size was actually started by my husband. He started trying to get in better shape before I did, and one of the first things he did was start using smaller plates for meals. It is amazing what a difference it can make.

If you put the correct portions on the great big dinner plate, it looks like such a small amount of food. But it pretty much fills up the small plate, making you feel like you are eating a good full meal. I also make sure that if I want seconds, I only take seconds of the veggie.

Also, I’ve been trying to have the plate at least half full with whatever vegetable we are having, or the vegetable plus a salad, and only put the protein and starch on the other half. It is actually what is recommended in the new Choose My Plate dietary standards.

4 responses to “Controlling Portion Size

  1. Ruth,

    We switched to using our salad plates a while back too. Much easier to control those portions. Keep up the good work! You are doing amazing!

    Crystal

  2. Pingback: Healthy Lifestyle Tip #2: Use Smaller Plates | Zumba My Butt Off

  3. Pingback: Weekly Healthy Habit #3: Portion Control | Zumba My Butt Off

Leave a Reply

