The Beginning of a Journey

I started this journey in March of this year (about 2 months ago), and had about 100 pounds to lose. Man, that is a big number. When I started this, my intention was not to actually lose weight, but just to get a bit more energy so I could keep up with my kids better, and so I would feel better.

I have always known that in order to start exercising regularly, I would have to find an exercise I could do consistently. I’ve tried going to the gym, doing the treadmill and the stationary bike, and I’ve tried water aerobics. I could keep them up for a little while, but soon the effort required to get to the gym, and my lack of excitement about the exercise became my downfall.

In March 2012, I bought an Xbox Kinect as a gift to myself, and the kids too, of course. I bought Zumba Fitness Rush at the same time. I have always loved dancing, so it seemed like a good fit for me. The fact that I could do it in my own home meant that I didn’t have to find the time to get to a gym, and I didn’t have to worry about anyone watching me. Both were very big bonuses.

I loved it right from the start. Zumba Fitness Rush has 3 lengths of classes, Short, which is about 20 minutes, Mid-Length which is about 45 minutes, and Full-length, which is about 65 minutes. It also has 3 levels of intensity, Low, Medium, and High. I started out doing the Short, Low intensity classes 3 times per week. I slowly built myself up, and now I am doing the Full-length, Medium intensity classes 6-7 times per week.

At the beginning, I didn’t even weigh myself, as I was only trying to feel a bit more fit, not necessarily lose weight. However, as my clothes started feeling loser, I decided to start weighing myself. I’m pretty sure I was already down a bit from where I started, which I think was probably over 240 pounds. For ease of tracking, I’m just going to say that 240 was my starting point. Here now, about 3 months later, I am at 224 pounds. I am watching what I eat–occasionally tracking calories using the MyFitnessPal app when I feel like I need to check in with it. Eating a lot of fresh fruit and veggies. I am worried about losing my motivation as time goes on, so I figured writing this blog might help. The name, if it isn’t obvious, is in recognition of the part of my body that has the most weight to lose. Welcome to my journey, thanks for joining me.

One response to “The Beginning of a Journey

  1. Pingback: Healthy Lifestyle Tip #3: Move More | Zumba My Butt Off

Leave a Reply

